The Official Development Agency of the City of Vilnius

Trakų Vokė Manor

In short

Trakų Vokė Manor once belonged to Tiškevičiai. Today's manor ensemble includes a palace decorated with columns, a bell tower with two towers, the Tiškevičiai Mausoleum, the only stables in Lithuania with neo-Baroque features, and other buildings. The manor now belongs to the Municipality of Vilnius. Visitors can join sightseeing tours of Trakai Vokė Manor.

Count Jonas Tiškevičius (1831-1892), Marshal of the Vilnius Nobility, built the manor, which survives to this day. All of the park’s old roads and paths– the alleys of deciduous trees – were also preserved. Unfortunately, the manor house was damaged during the war. Architects Alfonsas Lagunavičius and Jonas Zibolis restored the manor house between 1971 and 1978.

Later, researchers from the Institute of Agriculture worked there for many years. Thanks to them, the palace is now well preserved. During the war, German colonists from the Netherlands lived in the manor. After the war, the exterior details of the palace were destroyed.

Brief History

The manor park was established in 1884 and reconstructed in 1898-1900. Neo-classicism, neo-Baroque, neo-Gothic, and folk architectural traditions are harmoniously integrated into the manor ensemble.

The strictly geometrically designed part of the manor contrasts with the scenic part of the park on the slopes of the Vokė River. You can also find the old spring water well with a small stone pool. The picturesque manor park was established in 1884 and reconstructed in 1898-1900 by French landscape architect E. F. Andre (1840-1911). The oldest of the manor buildings is a wooden oficina-flig, which dates back to when the land belonged to the landlords Dombrovskiai (end of the 18th century and first half of the 19th century).

A brick fence with gates on three sides surrounded the manor. A free planning park and three ponds occupy the northern and southeastern parts of the manor. Valuable species of fish were bred there when the estate was prosperous. During the reign of J. Tiškevičius, the manor flourished and became the place of one of the first telephone lines in Lithuania. Turbots with Dutch dressing, hot lamb, jerubes, pheasant and other luxurious dishes were served in the manor’s dining room.

After the death of J. Tiškevičius, the manor was given to his son Jonas (1867-1903), and later to his young children.

World War II messed up the sequence of inheritance. At the beginning of the war, paintings, furniture and other valuable items belonging to the Trakai Vokė Palace were stolen.

Address:
Žalioji 2A, Vilnius 02232Google Maps
More information:
Working hours:

I-V: 10:00-18:00
For visiting at other times book in advance

Price:

Entrance is free

By using this site, you consent to the use of cookies for analytical purposes, advertising and personalized content. For more information,read here.