The Dominican Order monks in Lithuania stayed during Gediminas’ time, so a wooden church in this place had already existed in 1321, and the stone Church of the Holy Spirit was built in 1408. It is one of the most charming churches in Vilnius, with its impressive Rococo ornaments; sixteen altars, spectacular organs designed by Adam Gottlob Casparini in the 18th century, and 45 paintings, which are kept as monuments. From 1986 to 2005, the painting of the Divine Mercy was respected here. The steady history of the church preserves a wealth of secrets, not only in the church but also in the underground ensembles, which houses the remains of the victims of wars and epidemics.
Mass at the Church of the Holy Spirit are held in Polish, but all pilgrims are welcome to feel and share the aura of six hundred years of spirituality. Pope John Paul II visited the church on 5 September 1993. The right nave of the church is equipped with an altar dedicated to St John Paul II, which incorporates the Pope’s blood into its relic.